2019 Four Nations Grand Masters Hockey Tournament

Aberdeen 24-26 May 2019

The 2019 Four Nations Grand Masters Hockey Tournament will, for the first time, include an Over 60 Tournament Trophy as well as full International tournaments in the Grand Masters (Over 60), Great Grand Masters (Over 65) and Senior Grand Masters (Over 70) age groups.

Participating nations are England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales. England are the current champions in each of the international age groups and Ireland were runners up in both the Grand Masters and Great Grand Masters competitions held in Dublin in 2018. Ireland did not participate in the 2018 Senior Grand Masters tournament and Wales were runners up.

Teams representing the four nations will fight it out for the inaugural Four Nations Tournament Trophy. Scottish Thistles finished in the highest place of all the four nations (second) in the 2018 World Cup after overcoming England LX on penalties in the semi final.


The main venue for the tournament is Countesswells Playing Fields, 233 Countesswells Rd, Aberdeen AB15 8AR, where there are two pitches, one water based and one sand dressed. Most matches will be played at Countesswells, where there is good parking and changing facilities. We are planning to have refreshments available on site.

There are two other venues: the water based pitch at Aberdeen Sports Village Linksfield Rd, Aberdeen AB24 5RU and the sand dressed pitch at Rubislaw Playing Fields, Bayview Road South AB15 4YT.

There will be a Civic Reception hosted by Aberdeen City Council before the tournament dinner on Saturday 25 May in the Beach Ballroom, Beach Promenade, Aberdeen AB24 5NR.


Hotel accommodation in Aberdeen is plentiful and relatively inexpensive. We have produced a list of recommended hotels.


Friday 24 May

15:30 pitches available for practice

16:00 - 19:30 matches at all three venues

Saturday 25 May

10:00 - 17:30 all matches at Countesswells

20:00 - 23:00 tournament dinner

Sunday 26 May

09:15 - 14:05 matches at Countesswells with one match at Aberdeen Sports Village

14:15 closing ceremony at Countesswells

match schedule