WGMA World Cup 15-24 September 2010

Hartleyvale Stadium, Cape Town, South Africa

Grand Masters (Over 60s)

16 Sep 13:00 B Netherlands Scotland
18 Sep 13:00 A Italy Scotland
19 Sep 13:00 B Scotland England
20 Sep 11:00 A Scotland New Zealand
23 Sep 15:00 A Wales Scotland
24 Sep 09:00 A South Africa Scotland
  13:00 B Germany New Zealand
  15:00 A England Australia

Scotland were in Pool B with England, Italy, Netherlands and New Zealand. Pool A had only four teams: Australia, Germany, South Africa and Wales.

The teams finishing first and second in each group played off against the corresponding two teams in the other group to decide positions 1-4, counting the results of the games already played in the group matches. The top two in this group of four played off for positions 1 and 2 and the bottom two for positions 3 and 4.

The teams finishing in the lower placings in the two groups played a round robin against the other sides to decide positions 5-9, again counting the results of games played in the original pools. Scotland finished in fourth place in Pool B and played Wales and South Africa in their last two matches. A goal from Wales with only three minutes left cost Scotland a higher position but a 2-1 win against South Africa on the last day ensured seventh place for Scotland. England won Gold, beating Australia in the final, while Germany beat New Zealand in the 3rd/4th playoff to win Bronze.

Scotland GM Squad

Auld (C), Bain, Chisholm (VC), Crichton, Dunbar, Dunlop, Ferrol, Gordon, Leighton (GK), McIntosh, McNab, Moore, Tucker, Walter

Great Grand Masters (Over 65s)

15 Sep 15:00 B Scotland Australia
16 Sep 11:00 A Netherlands Scotland
19 Sep 11:00 A Germany Scotland
20 Sep 15:00 A England Scotland
22 Sep 17:00 A Germany Scotland
23 Sep 11:00 B Netherlands Scotland
24 Sep 13:00 A England Australia

Five teams: Australia, England, Germany, Netherlands and Scotland competed in an initial round robin.

In the cross overs, position 1 (England) played position 4 (Germany) and position 2 (Australia) played position 3 (Netherlands), the winners (England and Australia) playing each other to decide 1st and 2nd place. The losers (Germany and Netherlands) played the 5th placed team (Scotland) to determine the minor placings – 3rd to 5th. Scotland lost 4-0 to Germany and faced Netherlands on Thursday 23 September still looking for their first win (and first goal). They scored first through McLernan but the Dutch were too strong and put four past Pollard to leave Scotland in fifth place. England won the Gold, beating Australia in the final, while Germany won the bronze on points.

Scotland GGM Squad

Ballingall, Bremner, Bryce (VC), Caren, Downie, Forster (C), Horsley, Margerison, McLernan, Mitchinson, Morrice, Paterson, Pollard (GK), Ree